Masayume

    • Home
    • Student Life
    • Books

     

    [might contain spoiler]




    Theme: Classics, Young Adult, Coming-of-age
    First published in 1951


    The Catcher in the Rye tells the story of Holden Caulfield, a teenage boy who got himself sacked out of school after flunking four subjects. Christmas vacation wasn't due in a few days, and he didn't feel like telling his parents anyway, so he packed his bags and wandered around the New York city. This story entails his thoughts and the people he met in the span of the few nights; his teacher Mr Spencer, a classmate's mother on the train, girls in the club, a prostitute, his old friend Sally, a senior at his old school Carl Luce, his little sister Phoebe, and Mr Antolini.


    Personal thoughts:

    It was very boring, to be honest. I bought a copy from a gal on Threads for cheap and I didn't even know what it was about. But I've heard of the title, and it's a famous book, so I thought "why not give it a try". Fair to say I don't like the story. It was too plain to my liking.

    To start off, I think the writing prose is fine. It's written in the post-WWII era therefore the language is easy to understand. None of those poetic and formal dialogues stuff. A lot of slangs were used, too. As this is written in the POV of a teenager, I can say the writer did a good job in capturing the essence of a teenager's mind; fiery but scared, wanting to look cool, slightly nerdy and his thoughts an array of scattered contradictions.

    As I said, the story is too plain and this is clearly a matter of preference, I must say. I had always enjoyed books with climactic and dramatic stories with a good plot twist and a little spilt blood here and there. Books where they always had something going on every page. 

    But there are good bits of this book that I actually like. I love learning new words and slangs they used. Some of the peculiar ones I found in particular: 

    dough -> a slang for money, existed since early 1900s.
    crook -> thieves, con artist, dishonest people
    undertaking parlors -> funeral homes
    horsing around -> fooling around, behaving in a silly way
    can -> slang for toilet/bathroom
    sock/take a sock -> hit, punch
    flit -> gay
    cold as a witch's teat

    About Holden, I think of him as an immature boy, slightly in the average social teenage class; not too nerdy and definitely not hot, thinks everyone else is a phony, full of contradictions; he said one thing and did another, acting all tough but in reality he's just a lonely guy. He had two older brothers; one is alive and well writing scripts for Hollywood, another is dead, and a younger sister Phoebe whom he adored a lot. 


    Addressing other claims about the book:

    I've seen a lot of reviews saying this book is revolutionary and rebellious, and I personally DO NOT understand which part of it is revolutionary lol. People saying they are "blown away" and that the only good thing in their life is that they read this book......... bro bffr



    Some says it's philosophical-ish how Holden represent every other child in this world who got betrayed by authorities and adults and learning how to take his steps in this cruel world, all while carrying the grief of losing his brother. 

    I mean......... this is where I said it's really a matter of people's preferences. Because wdym it's philosophical..... It's really just a story about Holden. Stop reading too much into it lol. This kinda reminds me of that joke where we would learn poems in English class and the teacher said "look at the first line 'the sky is blue'. blue here means the poet's sorrow of his wife's death" all the while what the poet actually meant by 'the sky is blue' is probably that 'the sky is blue'.


    The book had previously been banned and restricted in America due to its references to sexual exploration, swear words, promoting bad behaviour (smoking, drinking), contained anti-authoritarian motives and mental health exploration.

    How do one decide to ban a book? Is this common in America or other parts of the world too? I honestly can't imagine banning this book. There are other books you should ban, had you think if it's 'too woke'. But this? This is the opposite of whatever the reason.

    Sexual exploration? The book only mentions Holden wanted to have sex, but chickened out soon after. It doesn't even contain explicit scenes. Swear words? The worst he said was 'bastard' if that's even an insult. But I getddit, the 50s were different. The anti-authoritarian part? Laughable. No one who read the book would suddenly declare a war with the government. Wouldn't even cross their mind. Mental health exploration? Not really. It was insinuated that he was grieving his brother's death, but that's as far as it is. But okay, I will concur on this one.


    All in all, I think a specific audience would enjoy this book. I wouldn't say it's a bad book. Nope, just bad for me. And if you're thinking of reading, ummmmmmm I would say......... a BIG NO LOL. There are better books out there.



    Continue Reading

     

    Bismillah.





    I know it's already the end of February, but you know what they said >,< it's better late than nevahhhhh

    Let's do my 2025 reading wrapped! 


    In 2025, my goal was to read a total of 31 books, and it had to have at least one non-fiction book. And I did it! Yeayy!!




    I have been enjoying reading books since I was 5, and back in primary school, I was wholly devoted to my buku NILAM. Literally won't go anywhere without it. I loved the ritual of excitedly finishing a book and having a sense of pride seeing the pages all filled up (yes I'm a nerd like that). However as I grew into my teenage years and adulthood, I sort of forgot the introspective action of documenting your reads and jotting down your inner thoughts. It's honestly such a good way to not only remember what kind of books you've read, but also to understand yourself and build your own character and mind. 

    Since around 2021 or so, I started tracking my reading again, cause I felt like I wasn't reading much and my love for books faded a bit. Sometimes, I stayed consistent with all the trackings. Some other times, and perhaps most of the times, I forgot about this hobby of mine and drifted away lolll.

    Anyway, 2025 was the year I actually stayed trulllyyyy on track. Well, I got strayed some mid-year, but I managed to achieve the target nonetheless!

    To get down to it, let's start with my best and worst read of the year:
     



    I honestly never have read anything as complete as The Woman Destroyed. I really ought to make a separate post about this book, but if you're curious, it is comprised of 3 short stories about womanhood. The first one, a woman and her husband in their 60s, narrated in her POV, as they faced the challenging phase of parenthood; their son having a different opinion from them, and how she felt like her husband no longer loves her. The second story is called The Monologue but I dislike it so much so let's not bother about it. The last short story, The Woman Destroyed, is about the wife being cheated on by her husband. She allows him to continue the affair, clinging to the comfort of self-deception, telling herself  that 'he will return to her'. Eventually, the affair consumes her being and sense of self and she ended up.... a wreck. Her story is not a pitiful one, I gather, but rather a tragic portrait of what happens when we abandon our own clarity and self-respect for the illusion of love.

    Meanwhile we have The Housemaid is Watching as my worst read. It is the final installment in The Housemaid trilogy. It was soooo baddddd everything felt like they have no idea what they are doing and just put pieces and bits together and pray to God it's be okay. It was not.



    My most read authors! I have always known Agatha Christie, but I had never read her works until last year. They are brilliant.


    To summarize quickly my reading journey in 2025:



    For this year, my reading goal is:

    1) To read 35 books including non-fiction.

    Why 35? It's just a random number. I thought we should always strive to be better when determining our goals, so ideally the number should be above 31. 32 felt such a lazy goal. I have to be much, much better than that. But it also has to stay realistic so I settle with 35.

    2) To read more diverse genre

    As I realize I stick way too much to detective books, the only way for me to actually grow is to leave my comfort zone. I'm thinking of trying books in the genres I dreaded: classics, fantasy and sci-fi. Let's see how it's gonna turn out.

    3) To read books from at least 5 different countries

    When I read The Bastard of Istanbul last year, it made me ashamed to how oblivious I was to the histories and cultures of people all over the world. This was the book that made me goes "oh wow I never knew I was this shallow" in regards to my shallow thinking of the order of this world. 

    For instance, did you know that the Ottoman Empire convicted the act of genocide against Armenian peple in 1915-1917? Over 1,000,000 Armenian people were deported out of their homes and sent on death marches to the Syrian desert. And yet, the Turkish government dares to deny this to this day.



    That's all for my reading goals 2026. I didn't wanna be unrealistic and set too much goals and sub-goals and whatever, so I hope I manage to achieve it this year.



    Continue Reading


    [opinions might differ in a span of a month or so lol]




    I finished my degree last August, and had taken two part time jobs during the two months gap between August and October, when we had our convocation. The main motivation in working jobs and getting up so freaking early in the morning was due to my convocation fees and other miscellanous fees (photographer, makeups, outfits, shoes etc). I didn't ask money from my parents cause I feel like, this is my day, and I want it to be perfect, and I want it to be my own money.

    The uni charged us RM300, hat and gown and 2 pictures included. Bloody ridiculous, i'd say. But what else do you expect from a private uni? The pictures turned out holy beautiful, and i look like an influencer typa face, so i'd say it was money well-spent. I would LOVEEE to share the picture here but in this era of digital perverts and AI? Um no thanks.

    But now that convocation's over, I have no motivation in earning money, and hence, I've been sleeping lazily at home in the last.... 2 and a half months.... seriously, i woke up late, cooked rice (the rice cooker did the job, actually), watched some movie, opened the linkedin, saw two people posted new achievements, smashed the laptop to the wall, take a before-asar typa nap, wake up and pray asar, went outside, help sweep the yard or sth, feed the cats, after isyak it's family movie time then play tiktok until i fell asleep.

    Anyway, back to the original topic.


    What do I feel about being jobless you ask? Honestly, it wasn't all that bad, if we're being real here. Minus the wealthy fat bank acc, ofc. But unless you're a shopping addict, you'll be fine. Take a look at me for instance. When was the last time I bought something online?................. okay, last week, I suppose. (I bought a few preloved books, and yes, I asked for my mom's money.)

    I need to put a disclaimer here, that not everyone is the same as me, and therefore everyone else's feelings are valid and that I am very lucky and privileged I come from a family with a stable financial earnings. We are not wealthy; welp, my mom's a retired teacher and dad's a driving instructor (basic salary income). But we make do with whatever we have so it's fine I don't work. I do not put a burden on my parents from me being jobless (or so i'd like to convince myself HAHAHAHHA).


    The downside of being jobless: you start to question your worth, debating which was the cause of it? Was it my stupidity that didn't earn me a first-class degree or was it cause I didn't join competitions? Or it's me hi i'm the problem it's me?? (cue taylor swift)

    The downside of being jobless: the feeling hits the worst when you open Instagram and LinkedIn :) funny how ironic it is when LinkedIn was supposed to be our go-to site for job hunting, and now I have to bite my tongue watching everyone else—literally everyone else beside me secure a job. That's why I have long since stopped being on Instagram lol. I just keep tiktok and threads and twitter.

    Okay okay. Now that I've written it loud and clear, let me clear something up. I am *not* jealous of my friends who have gotten their first job, or second, or wthvr achievements. I don't have hati busuk like that okayyyyy. I'm happyyy for them, but it pains me when I see it cause it reminds me of what I am not - perfect. Please don't say something like "gosh why can't you be happy for them?" bij i am. This is an overcomplicated feeling and it's something you won't understand unless you experience it yourself.

    The downside of being jobless: societal pressure. My family doesn't do much pressure, presumably because they've seen me cried before (long story short, uncle jokingly called me out why am i wasting rice at home and it hits me so deeeeeeep in the guts i ran to my room and cried LOLLL I'M SUCH A BABYYYY gosh i hate myself). But people around the neighbourhood? Uncles and aunts??? Babe everytime my uncle comes to visit I fear my stomach is turning inside out. 

    The downside of being jobless: not having money for travel. (and all the cons of not having your own money)




    The slightly less brutal side of being jobless: NO STRESS!!!! NO CRYING LATE AT NIGHT NO NERVOUS SYSTEMS BREAKING DOWN IN CASE I MISSED A DEADLINE OR FORGOTTEN A TASK!!!! BLOODY HELLL THIS IS SOOOO MUCH BETTER THAN BEING A STUDENT. Yall have no idea how blissful it is to waking up each day and not headache-ing myself into solving freaking damn engineering problems, calculus stuff nobody understands except Isaac Newton himself, *cough* Transport Phenomena *cough* (yea i hate this subject, barely pass it), and all those 1001 other things I shuddered just by thinking about it.



    God it feels so good to write all em feelings down. Haha.

    Anyway, my target is to secure a GOOD JOB WITH REASONABLE SALARY AND GOOD JOBSCOPES before Raya. Cause me being me, i'm scared of judgmental society, so........ by raya, i hope i have gotten a good job offer ^^ please pray for me guyssss (i'm on my knees) (i need every prayer possible)

    Till next time, bye!! I'll try to post more stuffs this year hehe :)))) think of it as a digital journaling



    Continue Reading
    Newer
    Stories
    Older
    Stories

    Total Pageviews

    About me

    About Me

    forever 22. a currently struggling student who sometimes wishes she could be a cat instead. an avid fan of zint lu, books and stargazing enjoyer.

    Follow Me

    • pinterest
    • instagram
    • goodreads

    My Followers

    Labels

    adventure book contemporary fantasy finance foundylife historicalfic history memoir penang perak psychological religious studentlife thriller untuk budak baru nak mengenal dunia youngadult

    chatbox

    #ISupportPalestine

    #ISupportPalestine

    Most Popular

    • Gunung Alai, A Picturesque View
    • When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

    Blog Archive

    • ▼  2026 (3)
      • ▼  March 2026 (1)
        • The Catcher in the Rye
      • ►  February 2026 (1)
        • 2025 Reading Wrap-Up!
      • ►  January 2026 (1)
        • my (current) thoughts on being unemployed
    • ►  2025 (2)
      • ►  November 2025 (1)
      • ►  September 2025 (1)
    • ►  2024 (3)
      • ►  June 2024 (1)
      • ►  May 2024 (1)
      • ►  February 2024 (1)
    • ►  2023 (14)
      • ►  November 2023 (1)
      • ►  October 2023 (7)
      • ►  September 2023 (2)
      • ►  July 2023 (1)
      • ►  June 2023 (1)
      • ►  May 2023 (2)
    • ►  2022 (7)
      • ►  January 2022 (7)
    • ►  2021 (8)
      • ►  December 2021 (4)
      • ►  November 2021 (1)
      • ►  July 2021 (1)
      • ►  January 2021 (2)
    • ►  2020 (15)
      • ►  December 2020 (8)
      • ►  November 2020 (3)
      • ►  October 2020 (2)
      • ►  August 2020 (2)
    • ►  2017 (1)
      • ►  April 2017 (1)

    fav blog

    • Faezah Mdnor
    • Amazing Distance
    • between the lines
    • the untold stories
    • scriptura
    • jellove
    • moonroha
    • aeda.
    • melancholila
    • subtle asian bookclub
    • that artsy reader girl
    • ainsoofiyah
    home instagram pinterest tiktok

    Created with by BeautyTemplates

    Back to top